Land Acknowledgment

The Muskoka Community Foundation would like to acknowledge that the District Municipality of Muskoka sits on land that has been inhabited by Indigenous Peoples from the beginning. In particular we acknowledge the traditional territories of the Ojibway, the Chippewa, the Algonquin and the Odawa. Today Muskoka is home to three sovereign nations: Wahta Mohawks First Nations, Moose Deer Point First Nation and the Moon River M├ętis. These lands are covered by the Williams Treaty of 1923, the Robinson Huron Treaty of 1850 and the J. Collins land purchase of 1785.